Supporting PROGRAMME

Daily

10:00-11:00

The morning reading: Extracts from

Golem xiv 

by Stanislaw Lem 

Live-Stream

Stanislaw Lem’s (1921-2006) science-fiction writing belongs to world literature. His books have been translated into 57 languages, sold 45 million copies and adapted into film many times. Lem’s impressive technological understanding is the foundation that runs through all his work, in which his human protagonists usually come to misfortune because of themselves and their incomprehension of an apparently enigmatic environment. GOLEM XIV, published in 1973 and rewritten in 1981, explores work on artificial intelligence and its unruly reaction to its creators: before the supercomputer GOLEM XIV bids farewell to go to the “zone of silence”, it tries to record a history of humanity’s most important mistakes in the form of three lectures for them. Not without humour, Lem takes a look at some of the main false assumptions in the relationship between humans and nature, evolution and progress, the past and the future. 

Eight theatre colleagues have agreed to each read an extract from Golem’s lectures to humanity in German and English and to provide the festival with an audio file. The readings will be streamed every morning between 10:00 and 11:00 am on the festival website, the English once will be available until midnight on the 15th of November in the audio library. 

 

Excerpts from “Golem XIV” from IMAGINARY MAGNITUDE by Stanislaw Lem, translated by Marc E. Heine. English Translation, Copyright © 1984 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

Deutsche Rechte Suhrkamp Verlag Berlin

Thu 12.11. 12:00-13:30

Fri 13.11. - Sun 15.11.

14:00-15:30

Video mail from Europe

Interviews 

Live-Stream

What is the situation of European theatre-makers like this year? What are they thinking about? What did they experience? Are they able to keep working in their professions? For festival curator Charlotte Orti von Havranek, video meetings are one of her research tools. For Fast Forward at Work, she recorded some of these conversations and cut them down to a 30-minute format. They will be streamed during the festival, some of them for the first time, and will be available after that in the video library. 

12.11. - 12:00-13:30

Irisz Kovacs - Marc Villanueva Mir - Helle Rossing

13.11. - 14:00-15:30

Nela Kornetová - Marilena Katranidou - Žiga Divjak

14.11. - 14:00-15:30

Radu Nica - Kamilė Gudmonaitė - Data Tavadze

15.11. - 14:00-15:30

Nadir Sönmez - Mariona Naudin & Ireneu Tranis (Mos Maiorum) - Simon Thomas

Fri 13.11. & Sat 14.11.

12:00-13:00

Sun 15.11. 16:00-17:00

Work talks

Young European Directing

in Germany – Poland – Italy

Live-Stream

The lockdowns across Europe this spring also brought the theatre universities to standstill at the beginning. Questions of how theatre should be made and performed under the conditions of social and physical distancing and how this will change art, possibly indefinitely, naturally have few answers, instead we face new challenges. How can you finish your degree in times like these? And what situation awaits you afterwards? In three video talks with theatre-makers at the end of their training and beginning of their careers, insights will be offered into how young people in Europe are dealing with this situation.

13.11. - 12:00-13:00 - Germany

Carolina de A. Cesconetto, Lena Katzer, Theresa Thomasberger

& Eunsoon Jung, Josephine Witt, Sarah Claire Wray

14.11. - 12:00-13:00 - Poland

Karol Klugowski, Radoslaw Stepien​, Jan Hussakowski, Agata Koszulińska

15.11. - 16:00-17:00 - Italy

Est Coulon, Alessandro Rilletti, Emilia Verginelli, Michael Schermi

Thu 12.11.-Sat 14.11.

16:00-17:30

Sun 15.11. 11:30-13:00

Festival talks 1-4

Live-Stream

In four live discussions, we are going online with European theatre-makers to pursue questions that bring theatre work together with related social issues. We’ll explore the reasons and possibilities for thinking in local and international networks, talk about the urgency of working against climate change, about old and new power structures and criticism of them, and finally about the art of meeting the audience. In four talks, European theatre artists will give us an insight into what they think and do. The talks will be streamed live on www.fastforw.art. The talks will be in English with simultaneous interpreting into German.

12.11. - 16:00 - 18:00 Festival Talk 1

Theatre & Netzworking – the art, of thinking locally and globally

13.11. - 16:00 - 18:00 Festival Talk 2

Theatre & climate – on a necessary task

14.11. - 16:00 - 18:00 Festival Talk 3

Working on reality – how to act politcally in the art

15.11. - 11:30 - 13:30 Festival Talk 4

The touchables - about the art, to encounter the audience

Daily 18:00-20:00

campusradio

Live broadcast

Campus Radio Dresden is a student medium from and for students at all the universities in Dresden. Started in 2007, the campus radio programme is created voluntarily and based on the radio journalistic interests of the city’s students. In collaboration with the Faculty of Philosophy at Dresden, a training and further training programme is offered. Furthermore, the radio organises itself as a collective, supported by the independent radio channel, coloRadio. So we’re very happy that the campus radio will be streamed live from 6:00 to 8:00 pm on all four festival days via its channels and our festival website.

Website: https://campusradiodresden.de/

Thu 12.11. & Sat 14.11.

22:30-01:00

Fri 13.11. & Sun 15.11.

22:00-24:00

inside hole of fame 

INside objekt klein a

DJs on stream

No clubs, no parties, no lounge, no after-show talk, no actually-going-dancing-in-the-end or standing together and putting our heads together – all gone. But we won’t let Fast Forward at Work pass by without any party at all. In cooperation with the HOLE OF FAME and the OBJEKT KLEIN A in Dresden, we’re looking for a little gap for our party spirit so that we get some music at the end of the festival at least digitally. 

Inside HOLE OF FAME

12.11. - 22:30 - 01:00 - Veni Vidi Tanzi - Disco / Funk

13.11. - 22:00 - 00:00 - Sourton,  House / Break beat

15.11. - 22:00 - 00:00 - J.M.S.McKlara - Old school/ Hip-hop/ Pop/ Funk

In the background of the recordings, the exhibition HOUSE OF STARS by the photographers Daro Sulakauri and Hitori Ni can be seen.

OBJEKT KLEIN A

14.11. - 22:30 - 01:00 -  Lucas Kegler & LEiSE - Tech house


 

Daily

questions & answers (Q&A)

online

Digital communication makes a lot of things possible, but not exactly a face-to-face discussion with everyone in a room. Just like in the analogue world, this needs rules and someone to chair the discussion. We’re going to try it out in Fast Forward at Work. With the chat program on this website we can stay in touch during the four festival days. Here, during the live talks and evening performances on the digital stage, questions can be asked which we will pass on to the discussants and artists for the Q&As. And furthermore, this is also your stage. Here’s to an exciting discussion!

Sun 15.11. 20:00

Festival Closing

& Residency prize

Live-Stream

For the first time, the Förderverein Staatsschauspiel Dresden e.V. is donating a residency prize for one of the young European artists of this year’s festival. This means that that person can come back to Dresden and work on a new project here. You can find out more at the festival closing: on the 15th November at 8:00 pm in the live stream on this website.   

Daily

Cooperation with universities

partner

This year Fast Forward will appear in university course content for the first time. In cooperation with the Dresden University of the Fine Arts, there will be seminar in the Applied Theatre Studies and Production Dramaturgy department, in which the students will visit the festival in real life and online and investigate how the pandemic changes a festival and which new situations the artists, organisers and audience find themselves in under certain circumstances. They will also explore questions about the contextualisation of the productions presented: Where is art located? What positions does it occupy?  

There will also be a special collaboration between the supplementary course theatre in the department of German Studies at the TU Dresden and the department of Theatre, Film and Television Studies at the University of Aberystwyth, Wales. Under the guidance of Matthias Spaniel (Dresden) and Louise Ritchie (Aberystwyth), in “long-distance relationships” the students will research how people share experiences when they are in different places. This experiment on the “transport” of experiences and presences in asynchronous spaces and times is also cultural and social survival training.

At the Institute for Media Culture and Theatre at the University of Cologne, they will also be taking a look at Fast Forward from afar – as a practical exercise in media on the practice of curatorial work in times of a lack of co-presence and physical distance, under the instruction of Dorothea Volz. A discussion between the Cologne students with the students from the University of Fine Arts is planned for after the festival.  

 

Wed 11.11.-Fri 13.11.

european theatre forum

online event

The “European Theatre Forum 2020: European Performing Arts in Focus” is an international platform for vision, discourse, exchange, networking and policymaking to strategically strengthen the structurally highly fragmented European theatre sector. It offers, for the first time, a European representation for the entire sector as one of Europe’s major art forms, within and outside Europe. In focus: Impact of the Covid-19 pandemic on the performing arts and perspectives for the sector.

The forum will take place from 11 to 13 November 2020 during the festival "Fast Forward – European Festival for Young Stage Directors" in Dresden.

The European Theatre Forum is organised in the frame of the German EU Council Presidency and in cooperation with the German Minister of State for Culture and the Media Monika Grütters and the European Commission.

 

https://www.europeantheatreforum.eu/

RahmenProgramm

Täglich

10:00-11:00

Die Morgenlesung: Auszüge aus

Golem xiv 

von Stanislaw Lem

Live-Stream

Stanislaw Lems (1921-2006) Science-Fiction-Werke gehören zur Weltliteratur. Seine Bücher wurden in 57 Sprachen übersetzt, 45 Millionen Mal verkauft und zahlreich verfilmt. Lems beeindruckendes technologisches Verständnis zieht sich als Fundament durch eine Literatur, deren menschliche Protagonisten zumeist an sich selbst und dem Unverständnis für eine scheinbar rätselhafte Umwelt scheitern. GOLEM XIV, erschienen 1973 und überarbeitet 1981, bezieht sich auf die Arbeit an der künstlichen Intelligenz und deren eigenwillige Reaktion auf ihre Schöpfer: Denn bevor sich der Supercomputer GOLEM XIV in die “Zone der Ruhe” verabschiedet, versucht er der Menschheit die Historie ihrer wesentlichen Irrtümer in Form dreier Vorlesungen aufzuzeigen. Nicht ohne Humor nimmt Lem dabei einige zentrale Fehleinschätzungen im Verhältnis zwischen Mensch und Natur, Evolution und Fortschritt, Vergangenheit und Zukunft ins Visier.

Acht Kolleginnen und Kollegen haben sich bereit erklärt, je einen Ausschnitt aus Golems Vorlesungen an die Menschheit auf Deutsch bzw. auf Englisch zu lesen und als Audiofile dem Festival zur Verfügung zu stellen. Die Lesungen werden immer morgens zwischen 10:00 und 11:00 Uhr über die Website des Festivals ausgestrahlt, die deutsch-sprachigen Lesungen stehen anschließend in der Audiothek zur Verfügung.

 

Excerpts from “Golem XIV” from IMAGINARY MAGNITUDE by Stanislaw Lem, translated by Marc E. Heine. English Translation Copyright © 1984 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

Deutsche Rechte Suhrkamp Verlag Berlin

Do 12.11., 12:00-13:30

Fr 13.11. - So 15.11.,

14:00-15:30

Video-post aus europa

Interviews 

Live-Stream

Wie sieht die Situation europäischer Theaterschaffender in diesem Jahr aus. Was beschäftigt sie? Welche Erfahrungen haben sie gemacht? Können sie weiter in ihren Berufen arbeiten? Für Festivalkuratorin Charlotte Orti von Havranek gehört das Gespräch per Videoanruf zu den Mitteln der Recherche. Für Fast Forward At Work hat sie einige dieser Gespräche aufgezeichnet und auf ein 30-Minuten-Format gebracht. Sie werden während des Festivals z. T. erstmals gesendet und über die Videothek weiter zugänglich sein.

12.11. - 12:00-13:30

Irisz Kovacs - Marc Villanueva Mir - Helle Rossing

13.11. - 14:00-15:30

Nela Kornetová - Marilena Katranidou - Žiga Divjak

14.11. - 14:00-15:30

Radu Nica - Kamilė Gudmonaitė - Data Tavadze

15.11. - 14:00-15:30

Nadir Sönmez - Mariona Naudin & Ireneu Tranis (Mos Maiorum) - Simon Thomas

Fr 13.11. & Sa 14.11.

12:00-13:00

So 15.11. 16:00-17:00

arbeits-gespräche

Junge europäische Regie

in Deutschland - Polen - Italien

Live-Stream

Die europaweiten Lockdowns in diesem Frühjahr haben auch die Theaterhochschulen zunächst zum Stillstand gebracht. Auf die Frage, wie man unter den Bedingungen sozialer und körperlicher Distanz Theater erarbeiten und spielen soll und wie das diese Kunst möglicherweise auf unbestimmte Zeit verändert, gibt es statt Antworten naturgemäß eher neue Herausforderungen. Wie schließt man in diesen Zeiten ein Studium ab? Und in welcher Situation befindet man sich dann? In drei Video-Gesprächen mit Theatermacher*innen zwischen Ausbildung und Berufsanfang soll Einblick gegeben werden, wie junge Leute in Europa mit dieser Situation umgehen.

13.11. - 12:00-13:00 - Deutschland

Carolina de A. Cesconetto, Lena Katzer, Theresa Thomasberger

& Eunsoon Jung, Josephine Witt, Sarah Claire Wray

14.11. - 12:00-13:00 - Polen

Karol Klugowski, Radoslaw Stepien​, Jan Hussakowski, Agata Koszulińska

15.11. - 16:00-17:00 - Italien

Est Coulon, Alessandro Rilletti, Emilia Verginelli, Michael Schermi

Do 12.11.-Sa 14.11.

16:00-17:30

So 15.11. 11:30-13:00

Festival-gespräche 1-4

Live-Stream

In vier Live-Gesprächen gehen wir online und zusammen mit europäischen Theaterschaffenden Fragestellungen nach, die die Theaterarbeit mit anliegenden gesellschaftlichen Themen zusammenbringt. Dabei geht es um die Gründe und Möglichkeiten lokal und international vernetzt zu denken, über die Notwendigkeit gegen den Klimawandel zu arbeiten, über alte und neue Herrschaftsverhältnisse und deren Kritik und über die Kunst, sich mit dem Publikum zu treffen. In vier Gesprächen geben europäische Theaterkünstler*innen Einblick, in das, was sie denken und tun. Die Gespräche werden live über www.fastforw.art gestreamt. Die Gespräche sind auf Englisch mit deutscher Simultanübersetzung.

12.11. - 16:00 - 18:00 Festival-Gespräch 1

Theater & Netzwerke – die Kunst, lokal und global zu denken

13.11. - 16:00 - 18:00 Festival-Gespräch 1

Theater & Klima – über eine notwendige Aufgabe

14.11. - 16:00 - 18:00 Festival-Gespräch 1

Arbeit an der Wirklichkeit – Fragen zum politischen Handeln in der Kunst

15.11. - 11:30 - 13:30 Festival-Gespräch 1

Die Treffbaren - über die Kunst, dem Publikum zu begegnen

Täglich

18:00-20:00

campusradio

Live-Sendung

Das Campusradio Dresden ist ein studentisches Medium von und für Studierende sämtlicher Dresdner Hochschulen. Ins Leben gerufen 2007 entsteht das Programm des Campusradios auf ehrenamtlicher Basis und durch das radiojournalistische Interesse der Studierenden dieser Stadt. In Zusammenarbeit mit der Philosophischen Fakultät wird ein Aus- und Weiterbildungsprogramm angeboten, darüber hinaus organisiert sich das Radio auf kollektiver Basis selbst, unterstützt durch den freien Radiosender coloRadio. Wir freuen uns daher sehr, dass das Campusradio an allen vier Festivaltagen über seine Kanäle und unsere Festivalwebsite jeweils von 18:00 bis 20:00 live senden wird.

https://campusradiodresden.de/

Do 12.11. & Sa 14.11.

22:30-01:00

Fr 13.11. & So 15.11.

22:00-24:00

inside hole of fame 

INside objekt klein a

DJs im Stream

Clubs fehlen, Partys fehlen, die Lounge, der Aftershow-Talk, das doch Noch-Tanzen-Gehen oder beieinander stehen und die Köpfe zusammen stecken – alles fehlt. Aber wir werden Fast Forward At Work nicht ganz ohne Party über die Bühne gehen lassen. In Kooperation mit dem HOLE OF FAME und dem OBJEKT KLEIN A in Dresden suchen wir nach einer Lücke für den Partygeist, damit zumindest digital am Ende der Festivalabende aufgelegt  wird. 

Inside HOLE OF FAME

12.11. - 22:30 - 01:00 - Veni Vidi Tanzi - Disco / Funk

13.11. - 22:00 - 00:00 - Sourton,  House / Break beat

15.11. - 22:00 - 00:00 - J.M.S.McKlara - Old school/ Hip-hop/ Pop/ Funk

Im Hintergrund der Aufzeichnung ist die Ausstellung HOUSE OF STARS der Fotograf:innen Daro Sulakauri und Hitori Ni zu sehen.

 

Inside OBJEKT KLEIN A

14.11. - 22:30 - 01:00 -  Lucas Kegler & LEiSE - Tech house

Täglich

Fragen & Antworten (Q&A)

Live

Die digitale Kommunikation macht vieles möglich, aber nicht gerade das direkte Gespräch für alle in einem Raum. Wie in der analogen Welt auch braucht es dafür Regeln und Moderation. Das werden wir mit Fast Forward At Work ausprobieren. Mit dem Chat-Programm auf dieser Website können wir während der vier Festivaltage in Kontakt bleiben. Hier können während der Live-Gespräche und Abendvorstellungen auf der digitalen Bühne Fragen gestellt werden, die wir für die Q&As an die Diskutierenden und Künstler*innen weiterleiten. Und darüber hinaus ist das hier auch Ihre / Eure Bühne. Auf einen regen Austausch!

So 15.11. 20:00

Festivalabschluss

& residenzpreis

Live-Stream

Erstmals stiftet der Förderverein Staatsschauspiel Dresden e.V. einen Residenzpreis für eine*n der jungen europäischen Künstler*innen der diesjährigen Festivalausgabe. Das bedeutet, dass eine*n Mitwirkende*r für ein neues Projekt nach Dresden zurückkehren und vor Ort arbeiten wird. Mehr dazu gibt es beim Festivalabschluss zu erfahren: am 15. November um 20:00 Uhr im Live-Stream auf dieser Website.

Täglich

hochschulkooperationen

Partner

Fast Forward wird in diesem Jahr an vier Hochschulen zum Studieninhalt. In Kooperation mit der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Dresden findet im Bereich Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft und Produktionsdramaturgie ein Seminar statt, in dessen Rahmen die Studierenden das Festival vor Ort und online besuchen und untersuchen, wie die Pandemie ein Festival verändert und in welche neuen Situationen Künstler*innen, Veranstalter und Publikum unter Umständen geraten. Darüber hinaus wird es um die Frage nach der Verortung der gezeigten Inszenierungen gehen: Wo steht die Kunst? Welche Haltungen nimmt sie ein?

Ein besonderes Zusammenspiel findet zwischen dem Begleitstudium Theater im Fachbereich Germanistik der TU Dresden und dem Fachbereich Theater-, Film- und Fernseh-Studien an der Universität von Aberystwyth, Wales statt. Unter Anleitung von Matthias Spaniel (Dresden) und Louise Ritchie (Aberystwyth) erforschen die Studierenden in “Fernbeziehungen”, wie man Erfahrungen teilt, wenn man sich an verschiedenen Orten befindet. Das Experiment über den “Transport” von Gegenwart in asynchronen Räumen und Zeiten ist zugleich auch ein kulturelles und soziales Überlebenstraining.

Auch am Institut für Medienkultur und Theater der Universität zu Köln wird dieses Jahr aus der Ferne ein Blick auf Fast Forward geworfen – als medienpraktische Übung zur Praxis kuratorischen Arbeitens in Zeiten fehlender Ko-Präsenz und phyischer Distanz unter der Leitung von Dorothea Volz. Ein Austausch der Kölner Studierenden mit den Studierenden der HfBK im Anschluss and das Festival ist geplant.

Mi 11.11.- fr 13.11.

european theatre forum

online Veranstaltung

Das „European Theatre Forum 2020: European Performing Arts in Focus“ ist eine internationale Plattform für Visionen, Diskurs, Austausch, Vernetzung und Policy-Making, um den strukturell stark fragmentierten Theatersektor strategisch zu stärken. Es bietet erstmalig eine europäische Repräsentanz für den gesamten Bereich der Theater und anderer Darstellenden Künste innerhalb und außerhalb Europas. Im Fokus: Auswirkungen der Covid-19 Pandemie auf den Bereich der Darstellenden Künste und Perspektiven für den Sektor.

Das Forum findet vom 11. bis 13. November 2020 während des Festivals „Fast Forward – europäisches Festival für junge Regie“ in Dresden, statt.

Das European Theatre Forum ist eine Initiative im Rahmen der EU-Ratspräsidentschaft Deutschlands in Zusammenarbeit mit der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien Monika Grütters und der Europäischen Kommission.

https://www.europeantheatreforum.eu/

 

concept & design by studio beisel 2020