click it

NEWS +++ The upcoming edition of FAST FORWARD will take place from 11 - 14 November 2021 at the Staatsschauspiel Dresden. +++

Directors and teams can apply from now on until 30 April. Please find more information & the criteria for application here:

https://www.staatsschauspiel-dresden.de/spielplan/a-z/fast-forward/ +++
The archive of the 2020 edition can still be found here in the video library (see menu above) +++

Charlotte Orti von Havranek

 -Curator Fast Forward

We weren’t planning to celebrate FAST FORWARD‘S tenth birthday with the festival edition AT WORK. But in theatre, you deal with artists and as is well-known it’s not just necessity that makes them inventive. Our world is complicated. And it was already complicated before the pandemic. It’s about taking responsibility for being able to continue to live on this planet and doing so on the foundations of the basic human rights of a shared society, which in principle must be equal for everyone. But the world isn’t like that. And we feel that every day.    

One of the best things about art is that it can touch our senses and our minds, but also confuse them and sharpen them – the basis of fantasy and reality in equal measure. With a total of ten pieces from Estonia, Poland, the Netherlands, France, Spain, Hungary, the Czech Republic and Germany, this year you were supposed to experience theatre on the stage and as you walked through the city. And: we invited you to dive into a virtual world, test out new perspectives, take up positions and dance – all with the necessary distancing of course.

Following the decision of the federal and state governments in the Federal Republic of Germany, from 2-30 November 2020, all theatres throughout Germany have been closed in order to stop the spread of the corona virus. Although for this edition of the festival, together with the participating artists, we had developed formats where hygiene rules and the pandemic regulations that have been in effect since spring could have been strictly implemented, while at the same time could presenting upcoming European theatre-makers and their creativity to the audience, the nationwide ban on events affects us and the artists as well. Therefore from 12-15 November Fast Forward At Work will take place exclusively online. The programme can be found in the daily schedules and together as one PDF for download in the overview. Look forward to four packed European festival days, join us & stay healthy!

 

The european theatre forum – an initiative as part of the German Presidency of the European Council in collaboration with the German State Minister for Culture and Media, Monika Grütters, and the European Commission – will also take place from 11-13 November exclusively online. Further information and the live stream can be found here: https://www.europeantheatreforum.eu/page/livestream

 

See you there!

Joachim Klement

-Artistic Director Staatsschauspiel Dresden

Fast Forward  

at work

european festival for young stage directors

Staatsschauspiel dresden / fastforw.art

12. - 15. November 2020

 at work

at work

We weren’t planning to celebrate FAST FORWARD‘S tenth birthday with the festival edition AT WORK. But in theatre, you deal with artists and as is well-known it’s not just necessity that makes them inventive. Our world is complicated. And it was already complicated before the pandemic. It’s about taking responsibility for being able to continue to live on this planet and doing so on the foundations of the basic human rights of a shared society, which in principle must be equal for everyone. But the world isn’t like that. And we feel that every day.    

One of the best things about art is that it can touch our senses and our minds, but also confuse them and sharpen them – the basis of fantasy and reality in equal measure. With a total of ten pieces from Estonia, Poland, the Netherlands, France, Spain, Hungary, the Czech Republic and Germany, this year you were supposed to experience theatre on the stage and as you walked through the city. And: we invited you to dive into a virtual world, test out new perspectives, take up positions and dance – all with the necessary distancing of course.

Following the decision of the federal and state governments in the Federal Republic of Germany, from 2-30 November 2020, all theatres throughout Germany have been closed in order to stop the spread of the corona virus. Although for this edition of the festival, together with the participating artists, we had developed formats where hygiene rules and the pandemic regulations that have been in effect since spring could have been strictly implemented, while at the same time could presenting upcoming European theatre-makers and their creativity to the audience, the nationwide ban on events affects us and the artists as well. Therefore from 12-15 November Fast Forward At Work will take place exclusively online. The programme can be found in the daily schedules and together as one PDF for download in the overview. Look forward to four packed European festival days, join us & stay healthy!

 

The european theatre forum – an initiative as part of the German Presidency of the European Council in collaboration with the German State Minister for Culture and Media, Monika Grütters, and the European Commission – will also take place from 11-13 November exclusively online. Further information and the live stream can be found here: https://www.europeantheatreforum.eu/page/livestream

 

See you there!

Joachim Klement                                                         Charlotte Orti von Havranek

-Artistic Director Staatsschauspiel Dresden             -Curator Fast Forward

Greeting

 

A festival brings lots of people from all over together for a short intense time in one place. In the current situation, this is a huge challenge. And yet, in 2020 too, with Fast Forward Dresden will once again host young European theatre-makers – on the one hand in the city of Dresden and on the other on digital stage set up especially by the festival, making the festival internationally visible. So we can go on theatre journey together, even though right now we can’t travel a lot in real life. It’s important to do something for the next generation, for those who are just starting their careers. It’s important to stay connected, beyond national and linguistic borders. And it’s important to understand discussion as a quality of our culture. Because without communication, there is no solidarity and it is solidarity that we need especially now. Fast Forward at Work promises theatre, experiments, art, new formats, adventures and lots of exciting encounters with young, creative theatre-makers from all over Europe. Let’s let ourselves be surprised! 

 

Yours,

 

Barbara Klepsch

Saxony State Minister of Culture and Tourism 

Welcome

 

The state capital city of Saxony, Dresden, understands itself both geographically and mentally as a city on the border between Eastern and Western Europe. Enriched by its experiences as part of the Eastern Bloc and during the by now 30 years of transformation process in a new Europe, now once again Dresden will be the location of the Fast Forward Festival. Thanks to the initiative of the Staatsschauspiel Dresden and its artistic director Joachim Klement, in November 2020, once again young directors from all over Europe will meet with each other here. This artistically exciting festival, which enables a change of perspective in multiple senses, is a huge enrichment for our city and our theatre life. On behalf of the city of Dresden, I thank all its organisers and supporters, who have made the festival happen this year despite especially difficult circumstances. I wish the directing teams and guests of festival an inspiring stay in our city.   

 

Kind regards,

Annekatrin Klepsch

Deputy Mayor
Deputy for Culture and Tourism

with the support of

Institut_francais_RVB.png

in cooperation with

plus

hof-header-noline.jpg
maillon.jpg

The Staatsschauspiel Dresden is member of the European Theatre Convention.

oka_image1.jpg

sponsors & partners

click it

+++ Ab 21. November startet der Audiowalk HOW TO DISAPPEAR COMPLETELY von MeetLab in Dresden. Folgen Sie Andrei bis zum 30. November so oft Sie mögen auf den Spuren seiner Geschichte und lösen Sie das Rätsel des vollständigen Verschwindens. Alle nötigen Informationen finden Sie hier: https://www.fastforw.art/how-to-disappear-completely +++ weiterhin auf den Stückseiten dieser Website zu sehen: Barbara Luchners Videoarbeit BOULEVARD DE DRESDE // STRASSBURGER PLATZ & Anna Klimešovás und Petr Erbes‘ Radio-Feature THE LAST VINNETOU +++ Alle Gesprächsformate des Festivals finden sich in der Videothek (s. Menu oben) +++

Charlotte Orti von Havranek

-Festivalkuratorin

Den zehnten Geburtstag von FAST FORWARD mit einer Festivalausgabe AT WORK zu feiern, war nicht geplant. Aber im Theater hat man es mit Künstler*innen zu tun, und die macht bekanntlich nicht erst die Not erfinderisch. Unsere Welt ist kompliziert. Das war sie auch schon vor der Pandemie. Es geht um die Verantwortung dafür, weiter auf diesem Planeten leben zu können und das auf Fundamenten und mit Grundrechten des Zusammenlebens, die prinzipiell für alle gleich sein müssten. So aber ist die Welt nicht. Und das spüren wir täglich.

Zu den besten Eigenschaften der Kunst gehört es, die Sinne und den Geist zu berühren, zu irritieren und zu schärfen – als Spielbein für die Fantasie und die Realität gleichermaßen. Mit insgesamt zehn Arbeiten aus Estland, Polen, den Niederlanden, Frankreich, Spanien, Ungarn, der Tschechischen Republik und Deutschland sollten Sie dieses Jahr Theater auf der Bühne und beim Gang durch die Stadt erleben. Und: Wir haben Sie eingeladen, in virtuelle Welten einzutauchen, neue Perspektiven zu testen, Position zu beziehen und zu tanzen – alles mit dem gebotenen Abstand versteht sich.

Laut Beschluss des Bundes und der Länder sind seit 2. November 2020 bis 30. November bundesweit alle Theater geschlossen, um die Infektionsdynamik des Corona-Virus zu unterbrechen. Obwohl wir für diese Festivalausgabe zusammen mit den beteiligten Künstler*innen Formate entwickelt haben, deren Hygienekonzepte die seit dem Frühjahr geltenden Pandemie-Regularien strikt umsetzen und gleichzeitig dem Publikum mit Kreativität junges Theater aus Europa hätten zeigen können, trifft auch uns und die Künstler*innen das bundesweite Veranstaltungsverbot. Fast Forward At Work findet vom 12-15 November daher ausschließlich in der Online-Ausgabe statt. Das Programm finden Sie in den Tagesplänen und gebündelt als PDF zum Download in der Übersicht. Freuen Sie sich auf vier prall gefüllte europäische Festivaltage, besuchen Sie uns & bleiben Sie gesund!

 

Auch das european theatre forum - eine Initiative im Rahmen der deutschen EU-Ratspräsidentschaft in Zusammenarbeit mit der deutschen Staatsministerin für Kultur und Medien Monika Grütters und der Europäischen Kommission - tagt vom 11. – 13. November ausschließlich online. Weitere Informationen und den Live-Stream finden Sie hier: https://www.europeantheatreforum.eu/page/livestream 

 

Wir sehen uns!

Joachim Klement

-Intendant Staatsschauspiel Dresden

Fast Forward  

at work

Europäisches Festival für junge Regie

Staatsschauspiel dresden / fastforw.art

12. - 15. November 2020

 bei der Arbeit / at work

bei der Arbeit / at work

Den zehnten Geburtstag von FAST FORWARD mit einer Festivalausgabe AT WORK zu feiern, war nicht geplant. Aber im Theater hat man es mit Künstler*innen zu tun, und die macht bekanntlich nicht erst die Not erfinderisch. Unsere Welt ist kompliziert. Das war sie auch schon vor der Pandemie. Es geht um die Verantwortung dafür, weiter auf diesem Planeten leben zu können und das auf Fundamenten und mit Grundrechten des Zusammenlebens, die prinzipiell für alle gleich sein müssten. So aber ist die Welt nicht. Und das spüren wir täglich.

Zu den besten Eigenschaften der Kunst gehört es, die Sinne und den Geist zu berühren, zu irritieren und zu schärfen – als Spielbein für die Fantasie und die Realität gleichermaßen. Mit insgesamt zehn Arbeiten aus Estland, Polen, den Niederlanden, Frankreich, Spanien, Ungarn, der Tschechischen Republik und Deutschland sollten Sie dieses Jahr Theater auf der Bühne und beim Gang durch die Stadt erleben. Und: Wir haben Sie eingeladen, in virtuelle Welten einzutauchen, neue Perspektiven zu testen, Position zu beziehen und zu tanzen – alles mit dem gebotenen Abstand versteht sich.

Laut Beschluss des Bundes und der Länder sind seit 2. November 2020 bis 30. November bundesweit alle Theater geschlossen, um die Infektionsdynamik des Corona-Virus zu unterbrechen. Obwohl wir für diese Festivalausgabe zusammen mit den beteiligten Künstler*innen Formate entwickelt haben, deren Hygienekonzepte die seit dem Frühjahr geltenden Pandemie-Regularien strikt umsetzen und gleichzeitig dem Publikum mit Kreativität junges Theater aus Europa hätten zeigen können, trifft auch uns und die Künstler*innen das bundesweite Veranstaltungsverbot. Fast Forward At Work findet vom 12-15 November daher ausschließlich in der Online-Ausgabe statt. Das Programm finden Sie in den Tagesplänen und gebündelt als PDF zum Download in der Übersicht. Freuen Sie sich auf vier prall gefüllte europäische Festivaltage, besuchen Sie uns & bleiben Sie gesund!

 

Auch das european theatre forum - eine Initiative im Rahmen der deutschen EU-Ratspräsidentschaft in Zusammenarbeit mit der deutschen Staatsministerin für Kultur und Medien Monika Grütters und der Europäischen Kommission - tagt vom 11. – 13. November ausschließlich online. Weitere Informationen und den Live-Stream finden Sie hier: https://www.europeantheatreforum.eu/page/livestream 

 

Wir sehen uns!

Joachim Klement                                                            Charlotte Orti von Havranek

-Intendant Staatsschauspiel Dresden                             -Festivalkuratorin

Grusswort

 

Ein Festival bringt viele Menschen aus verschiedenen Himmelsrichtungen für eine kurze intensive Zeit an einem Ort zusammen. In der gegenwärtigen Situation ist dies eine große Herausforderung. Und dennoch wird Dresden mit Fast Forward auch 2020 zum Gastgeber für den europäischen Theaternachwuchs - einerseits analog vor Ort in der Stadt und andererseits über eine eigens eingerichtete digitale Bühne und damit auch international sichtbar. Wir können also gemeinsam auf eine Theaterreise gehen, selbst wenn wir aktuell vielleicht nicht real reisen können. Es ist wichtig, etwas für den Nachwuchs zu tun, für die, die gerade in den Beruf starten. Es ist wichtig, in Verbindung zu bleiben, über Länder- und Sprachgrenzen hinweg. Und es ist wichtig, den Austausch als eine Qualität unserer Kultur zu verstehen. Denn ohne Kommunikation gibt es keine Solidarität und die ist es, die wir heute besonders brauchen. Fast Forward AT WORK, das verspricht Theater, Experiment, Kunst, neue Formate, Abenteuer und viele spannende Begegnungen mit jungen kreativen Theaterschaffenden aus ganz Europa. Lassen wir uns überraschen!

 

Ihre

 

Barbara Klepsch

Sächsische Staatsministerin für Kultur und Tourismus 

Willkommen

Die sächsische Landeshauptstadt Dresden versteht sich geografisch wie mental als Stadt an der Schnittstelle zwischen Ost- und Westeuropa. Angereichert mit den Erfahrungen als Teil des sogenannten Ostblocks und inzwischen 30 Jahren Transformationsprozess in ein neues Europa, ist Dresden zum wiederholten Mal Ort des Fast Forward Festivals. Dank der Initiative des Staatsschauspiels und Intendant Joachim Klement treffen im November 2020 erneut junge Regisseurinnen und Regisseure aus allen Teilen Europas aufeinander.

Dieses künstlerisch spannende Festival, das einen Perspektivenwechsel in mehrfacher Hinsicht ermöglicht,

ist eine enorme Bereicherung unserer Stadt und des Theaterlebens. Ich danke im Namen der Stadt Dresden

allen Organisatoren und Unterstützern, die das Festival trotz der besonders schwierigen Bedingungen in diesem Jahr ermöglicht haben. Den Regieteams und Gästen des Festivals wünsche ich einen inspirierenden Aufenthalt in unserer Stadt.


Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Annekatrin Klepsch

Zweite Bürgermeisterin
Beigeordnete für Kultur und Tourismus

concept & design by studio beisel 2020